Share This Post


YT Government: Cannabis Licensing Board announced

January 21, 2019

The Government of Yukon has appointed five members to form Yukon’s first Cannabis Licensing Board. This represents a significant step toward establishing the private cannabis retail model.

The Cannabis Control and Regulations Act provides the board with the sole authority to approve licences, determine licensing conditions, and hold hearings related to a licence application. The board is arms-length from the Government of Yukon in its decision-making and authority.

The five Cannabis Licensing Board members are:

  • David Sloan, chair;
  • Mieke Leonard, vice-chair;
  • Shari Borgford, member;
  • John Farynowski, member; and
  • James Lindsay, member.

The creation of the Cannabis Licensing Board continues the transition to a private sector cannabis retail model for the Yukon. When selecting members, we did our best to select a board that represents the diversity of Yukon perspectives, including business, wellness and governance.

Minister responsible for Yukon Liquor Corporation John Streicker

Quick Facts

  • The Cannabis Licensing Board has the sole power to grant, refuse to grant, and renew licences, with or without conditions and to review decisions related to sanctions imposed by the Yukon Liquor Corporation.
  • The board consists of five members who serve for three-year terms.
  • The board will be ready to process retail applications this spring.


Cannabis Licensing Board member biographies

David Sloan, chair

Mr. Sloan has experience as a teacher, vice principal and school superintendent. He is a former health minister and has volunteered for a number of boards including the Yukon Lottery Commission, Yukon Arts Centre Planning Board, Yukon Historical and Museums Association, and the Guild Society Board. Mr. Sloan has Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Education.

Mieke Leonard, vice-chair

Ms. Leonard is a Registered Nurse with a background in internal auditing, occupational health and safety, and risk management. She is currently President of the Board of Directors for Teegatha’Oh Zheh and member (former chair) of the Licensed Practical Nurse Advisory Committee. Ms. Leonard is also a member of the Yukon Social Assistance Review Committee and Treasurer of the Canadian Society of Safety Engineering, Yukon Chapter. Ms. Leonard holds a Bachelor of Science in Nursing with Distinction, Bachelor of Arts in Sociology, CGAP Designation from the Institute of Internal Auditors, Occupational Health Nursing Certificate and is currently pursuing a Master in Health Law.

Shari Borgford, board member

Ms. Borgford owns a consulting company specializing in strategic planning, organizational performance and community engagement. She has extensive experience from the federal government within Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada and the Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency. Ms. Borgford has a Master of Business Administration and is on the Whitehorse Food Bank Board of Directors.

John Farynowski, board member

Mr. Farynowski has spent the last 50 years in Yukon and was employed with the Government of Canada, J.R. Paine and Associates, and the Government of Yukon. He served on the Haines Junction Village Council for 15 years, including as mayor from 2001 to 2007.  Mr. Farynowski was the vice-president of the Association of Yukon Communities, chair of the Crossroads Treatment Centre and was a member of Executive School Council, the City of Whitehorse Board of Variance and the Yukon Scout Council.

James Lindsay, board member

Mr. Lindsay is a pharmacist and co-owns the Medicine Chest Pharmacy. He was the first president of the Pharmacy Society of Yukon and sat on boards for the Yukon Fish and Game Association and MacBride Museum. Mr. Lindsay has a Bachelor of Science with a major in pharmacy and a Master’s in Business Administration.


Janine Workman
Cabinet Communications

Patch Groenewegen
Yukon Liquor Corporation


The post YT Government: Cannabis Licensing Board announced appeared first on NationTalk.

Share This Post

Lost Password